Jump to Navigation

Special Advisor to the President

Contact Info

Susan Feagin
Columbia Alumni Center
622 West 113th Street
Mail Code 4520
New York, NY 10025
Phone: 212-851-7999
Email: skf17@columbia.edu

Susan K. FeaginSusan K. Feagin (GS'74) is special advisor to President Lee C. Bollinger. From June 2002 through 2010, she led Columbia’s programs in alumni relations and development. As executive vice president for University Development and Alumni Relations, Feagin oversaw one of the most successful fundraising efforts in the history of higher education: the Columbia Campaign, which raised nearly $4 billion from 2004 to 2010. Other highlights during her tenure include the creation of the University-wide Columbia Alumni Association, the opening of the Columbia Alumni Center and Columbia’s 250th anniversary celebration during the 2003-2004 academic year. In 2011, she received an Alumni Medal in recognition of her outstanding service to Columbia and contributions to the University community.

Feagin has spent more than 35 years in development and alumni relations at Columbia University, Harvard University and the University of Michigan, and has had leadership roles in three major university development campaigns. From 1982 to 1987, she directed the Arts and Sciences component of Columbia’s University Campaign. In 1990, she was appointed the first associate dean for development in Harvard’s Faculty of Arts and Sciences and then was named director of university development at Harvard in 1996. Before rejoining Columbia, she was vice President for development at the University of Michigan.

In 1974, Feagin received a bachelor of arts degree cum laude from Columbia University’s School of General Studies and in the same year joined the Columbia University development office. She served on the School of General Studies Advisory Council until 2002 and received the General Studies Owl award for alumni volunteerism in 1998. She is currently a member of the Undergraduate Campaign Council for the Columbia Campaign and also sits on the advisory board for Village Health Works.